Thursday, July 4, 2013

Review: The Fire Horse Girl

 
 The Fire Horse Girl

The Fire Horse Girl

By Kay Honeyman

 

Blurb: A fiery and romantic adventure, perfect for fans of Grace Lin, Kristen Cashore, or Lisa See!

Jade Moon is a Fire Horse -- the worst sign in the Chinese zodiac for girls, said to make them stubborn, willful, and far too imaginative. But while her family despairs of marrying her off, she has a passionate heart and powerful dreams, and wants only to find a way to make them come true.

Then a young man named Sterling Promise comes to their village to offer Jade Moon and her father a chance to go to America. While Sterling Promise's smooth manners couldn't be more different from her own impulsive nature, Jade Moon falls in love with him on the long voyage. But America in 1923 doesn't want to admit many Chinese, and when they are detained at Angel Island, the "Ellis Island of the West," she discovers a betrayal that destroys all her dreams. To get into America, much less survive there, Jade Moon will have to use all her stubbornness and will to break a new path . . . one as brave and dangerous as only a Fire Horse girl can imagine.
 
Genres: YA, Adventure, Historical Fiction, Realistic Fiction, Romance
 
Published: January 1, 2013
 
Series: N/A
 
My Rating: 4 stars
 
The Fire Horse Girl was a really good Historical Fiction for sure. I like reading books in this that are about events not very many people write about, and, at least in my opinion, this book fits that description.

Jade Moon was my favorite character in this book. She was definitely strong, and she refuses to take no for an answer. She overcomes the odds in many different ways. Honestly, I think it's pretty hard not to like a character like her.

Like I said before, this is definitely not a regular Historical Fiction. In fact, a lot of the things I learned in this book I had NEVER knew before, not even from my history classes! It's an extremely interesting book, but I think that it will also appeal to people who don't like Historical fiction, because there are a lot of action-y and exciting scenes.

Also, PLOT TWISTS! There were a couple things I didn't see coming. Kay Honeyman did a fantastic job of making sure that the plot did not start to become predictable. Just when you thought you knew what would happen, there would be something unexpected to shatter your theories.

Fire Horse Girl is a great book for...anyone really. It'll appeal to fans of Historical Fiction, Romance, Adventure, Realistic Fiction-it's the kind of book that covers a lot of genres. And it covers them well.



 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for commenting on my blog!