Tuesday, December 30, 2014

Review: The Hit by Allen Zadoff

Boy Nobody 

By Allen Zadoff

Blurb:
The explosive new thriller for fans of Jason Bourne, Robert Muchamore and Michael Grant, previously published under the title Boy Nobody.

Boy Nobody is the perennial new kid in school, the one few notice and nobody thinks much about. He shows up in a new high school, in a new town, under a new name, makes few friends and doesn't stay long. Just long enough for someone in his new friend's family to die -- of "natural causes." Mission accomplished, Boy Nobody disappears, and moves on to the next target.

When Boy Nobody was just eleven, he discovered his own parents had died of not-so-natural causes. He soon found himself under the control of The Program, a shadowy government organization that uses brainwashed kids as counter-espionage operatives. But somewhere, deep inside Boy Nobody, is somebody: the boy he once was, the boy who wants normal things (like a real home, his parents back), a boy who wants out. And he just might want those things badly enough to sabotage The Program's next mission.



Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Action, Thriller, Mystery

Publication Date: September 4, 2014

Pages: 319

Series: The Unknown Assassin (book 1)

My Rating: 4.5 stars

 The Hit was a fantastic read. It goes beyond typical Ya Thriller I at first judged it to be. It is emotional, action packed, full of puzzles, and...did I mention emotional?

We never learn the main character's actual name. For purposes of this review, I will refer to him as Ben, the name he went by for his assignment during this book. Ben is a complicated character. He at first glance appears to be a mindless drone, taken at a young age and conditioned to kill without remorse. But he's so much more than that. Ben never does get too emotional throughout the book; there's always seemingly a bit of disconnect with him, which gives this story a unique flair. However, he is not the robot that his "Mother and Father" would want him to be. Sam brings this out in him more than he would like.

Sam broke through the tropes that are usually assigned to female love interests. She's smart, she has her own personality, she can see through Ben's facade (to a point) and she is by no means the innocent Mary Sue. She has a past that, though it at first glance seems like it doesn't matter much, actually plays a major part in the book, which I loved. She wasn't just put in the book to give Ben a girlfriend; she is an integral piece of the puzzle.

I loved this plotline. First off, it's not a black-and-white these are good guys and these are bad guys story. There aren't really bad and good guys here, really; the characters are kind of a shade of gray. This made the story so much more engrossing. It doesn't follow the usual formula that I am used to.

The ending, though, is definitely what made me realize just what a true gem this story was. It is so unexpected. It is heartbreaking, but at the same time it is necessary and I just could not respect the story as much if it had not ended this way. I sat in shock as I read the last few pages, and then some sorrow as the story went on. This is definitely one of those books where you should ABOVE ALL try not to get the ending ruined, because it totally makes the story.

This book went from being a fun thriller to being an emotionally scarring but strangely beautiful story in my eyes. I am so impressed with this book; I will definitely be reading the next one as soon as I can find it.

P.S. On a less serious note, what in Tom Hiddleston's name is with all the different titles?



No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for commenting on my blog!