Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Book Blitz: Dancing on the Edge

 Dancing on the Edge by Kit Bakke
Genres: Contemporary, Young Adult

Synopsis:
Twelve year-old Dot is not a dancer, but after her mother’s sudden and senseless death, she finds herself dancing on the edge…of everything.  After her whole world unravels in seconds, Dot is propelled on a voyage to discover the meaning of her past, and of her mother’s greatest gift to her.

With all familiar anchors swept away, Dot’s trip becomes a struggle between finding that gift and running away from a future that feels so bleak.  Pack your bags for a memorable, powerful journey into life in the wake of profound loss.


AUTHOR BIO
Kit Bakke spent the last half of the 20th century as a political radical (SDS and the Weather Underground), a pediatric oncology nurse, and an information technology consultant. In the 21st century, she became a published writer. Her MISS ALCOTT'S E-MAIL has led to further writing adventures, including being a founding member of Seattle7Writers (www.seattle7writers.org) and a chapter in HOTEL ANGELINE. Her latest book, DOT TO DOT, is a story of travel, discovery and possibly magic. Young teens, if they are good readers, like it, and so do adults.

Author links:
Follow on Bloglovin

Monday, April 28, 2014

To Know Me by Marcy Blesy

To Know Me

Marcy Blesy

Blurb: To know me is to die...

Seventeen-year-old Mae is convinced that the consequences of her poor decisions have caused the untimely deaths of her dad, sister Laura, and grandma who all die within a year, no matter how ludicrous her thoughts seem to those she loves. The solution? Run away so no one else she cares for gets hurt (even if she has to keep a GPS tracker on her phone at all times).

Desperate to earn her diploma and salvage something of her life, she transfers schools when people get too close. After switching to Woodson Prep with only two months to go until graduation, Mae keeps her goals in sight. But when she meets Ty, the "perfect boy" with his own secrets and a relentless interest in Mae, she must decide if she can stop running from the past and still protect those she loves.


Genres: Young Adult, Realistic Fiction, Romance

Publication Date: August 21, 2013

Pages: 130

Series: To Know Me (book 1)

My Rating: 4 stars

A free copy of this book was received in exchange for an honest review.

To Know Me
 was not exactly what I was expecting; however, while it was different then what my preconceived notions about it were, I really enjoyed it. 

My first expcectaion of To Know Me was that it was going to be a super depressing tearjerker; and you know, it was sad, but it wasn't really depressing. I didn't cry due to this book, either. The author kept it a bit lighter than I thought it would be, but it worked. Now, it's not super light and fluffy, either, but I did not have the urge to cry into my pillow for the next month either, which is probably for the best. The book adds a really adorable romance to the plot, which is really what effectively mixed the light side of realistic fiction with the heavier half of it. 

The size of this book was also kind of perfect. It's not too short, and it doesn't drag on. It's the kind of story that works perfectly for a novella, which doesn't always happen. 

Mae...poor Mae. The author explained really well why she is so sure she is the cause of people dying, which is good, because if it hadn't been done well a lot of the believability for this story would have gone out the door for me. I really sympathized with her.

The romance was nice, though it wasn't my favorite part of the story. I know that the romance is usually never be my favorite part of the story, though, so that's not really a complaint. I think that people who are more into romance will like it a lot, because Ty is a great character.

To Know Me was a lovely story, I am sure that I will be reading the next book in this series sometime in the future. 


  Follow on Bloglovin

Saturday, April 26, 2014

Book Blitz + Giveaway: Lore


Lore: Tales of Myth and Legend Retold
Release Date: 03/2014

Summary from Goodreads:
A collection of six folklore retellings that will twist your mind and claim your heart.

SHIMMER: A heartbroken boy rescues a mermaid... but is it too late to save her?

BETWEEN is about a girl, a genie, and a ton of bad decisions.

SUNSET MOON: Eloise doesn't believe in Native American magic--until the dreamcatcher spiders spin her down an unknown path.

THE MAKER: An incapacitated young man bent on revenge builds a creature to do it for him.

A BEAUTIFUL MOURNING: The story of a Maya goddess torn between duty and love, and the ultimate sacrifice she must make to achieve true happiness.

THE BARRICADES: When a human girl risks everything to save the life of an Eternal prince, will their feelings for each other change the world they know, or tear it apart?

Buy Links:
Amazon * Barnes and Noble * Kobo * iTunes

Excerpt:




Between by Karen Y. Bynum:

God, what had Lucy done? She rubbed the butterfly charm at her throat. She should never have ignored Natasha’s calls. If Lucy had just sucked it up and broken up with her, Natasha wouldn’t have shown up at Gaston. And Lucy wouldn’t have belittled her in front of the Royals. Her stomach churned, and she clutched the charm. Natasha’s grandmother had given it to her, and she hadn’t ever taken it off—until the day she gave it to Lucy. She swallowed her own shame and ripped the chain from her neck. She couldn’t look at it anymore. Couldn’t stand to feel its guilt weighing her down.

“I wish I could just forget you!” She threw the necklace into the abyss of the closet. Holding herself, she wept with her head pressed back against the wall. Slow, gasping tears quickly turned into sobs so gut-wrenching they made her teeth hurt.

“You can’t wish to forget.”

She froze mid-sniff. The blood must have drained from her face because her tears scorched as they rolled down her icy cheeks. A shadow moved in her peripheral vision.

Slowly, she lifted her head. Gasping, she pressed her hands to the floor, ready to jump up and haul ass. But in car-wreck fashion, she couldn’t look away. Fire floated in front of her. Her heart pounded painfully against her ribs. Was the house burning down? Surely not. The flames didn’t seem to be spreading. Instead, they drew down, drew together until they had a distinctly human shape. And eyes. Oh, God, the eyes. They glowed a frightening green, dark and bright at the same time.

This was just like every horror movie Lucy had ever seen. Her time had come. Either this thing would drag her to Hell or she’d be acting out The Exorcist any second. She wiped away a streak of tears.

Forcing herself to stand, to acknowledge what she’d done, she said, “This is about Natasha. Isn’t it?”

The figure didn’t move forward. It just lowered its arms, smaller flames sparking away from the movement. Why didn’t the closet catch fire?

“I’m here,” it said, “to grant you three wishes.”
Author Bios:
Brinda Berry:
Brinda Berry lives in the southern US with her family and two spunky cairn terriers. She's terribly fond of chocolate, coffee, and books that take her away from reality.  She doesn't mind being called a geek or “crazy dog lady”. When she's not working the day job or writing a novel, she's guilty of surfing the internet for no good 
Find Brinda at www.brindaberry.com .

Karen Y. Bynum:
Dragons, unicorns, genies…oh my! NA/YA author, coffee-lover, olive-hater, tea-drinker, music-listener. Random becomes me. Easily distrac— Blog

Laura Diamond:
Laura Diamond is a board certified psychiatrist and multi-published author of all things young adult paranormal, dystopian, and horror. When she’s not writing, she is working at the hospital, blogging at Author Laura Diamond--Lucid Dreamer, and renovating her 225+ year old fixer-upper mansion.

Jayne A. Knolls:
Jayne A. Knolls lives and works in New York City.  The Maker is her first published work of New Adult Fiction. Jayne can reached at JAKnolls@optonline.net
Theresa DaLayne:

My name is Theresa DaLayne and I’m a new adult author with Bloomsbury Spark, an amazing digital imprint of Bloomsbury publishing. Website

Cate Dean:
Hi there - thanks for checking in. My name is Cate Dean, and I write romantic suspense and paranormal, with some action packed YA paranormal and fantasy thrown in. I love to write, and I have been doing it most of my life. I've made up stories in my head for as long as I can remember, and I am thrilled to be able to write them down and share them with you. If you want to be the first to know when the next book is released, or be in on some fun, exclusive contests and giveaways, join my list here: http://catedeanwrites.com/join-my-list. You can learn more about me and my books at my website: http://catedeanwrites.com

***GIVEAWAY***
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Book Blitz Organized by:
Follow on Bloglovin

The Meaning of Maggie by Megan Jean Sovern

The Meaning of Maggie

By Megan Jean Sovern

Blurb: Eleven years old. The beginning of everything!

For Maggie Mayfield, turning eleven means she's one year closer to college. One year closer to voting. And one year closer to getting a tattoo. It's time for her to pull herself up by her bootstraps (the family motto) and think about more than after school snacks and why her older sisters are too hot for their own good. Because something mysterious is going on with her cool dude Dad, whose legs have permanently fallen asleep, and Maggie is going to find out exactly what the problem is and fix it. After all, nothing's impossible when you're future president of the United States of America, fifth grade science fair champion, and a shareholder in Coca-Cola, right?


Genres: Middle Grade, Historical Fiction, Realistic Fiction

Publication Date: May 6, 2014

Pages: 224

Series: N/A

My Rating: 4 stars


A free copy of this book was received from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

The Meaning of Maggie was a fun yet poignant book about a disease that doesn't get a lot of mentions in children's & teen literature; multiple sclerosis.

That was the reason that I wanted to read this book so badly, honestly. I actually know people who are suffering from MS. However, it seems that cancer is usually the only disease mentioned in books these days. I am not saying that I am against cancer books; no, that's not it at all, but cancer isn't the only thing out there, and so I thought it was refreshing to see something else be mentioned in here. I got to learn more about it.

Maggie was a great main character, and I think that kids will really enjoy reading about her! I really liked her; she was funny, smart, and her struggles are things that a lot of people can relate too; sick family members, sibling troubles, crush problems...she was a very well done character.

I loved that the author put some humor in here; first off, because it reminded me a bit of the Ramona Quimby series for some reason, and I loved that series, and secondly because who doesn't like a bit of humor here and there?

The one thing I did not like was the footnotes. I'm not sure if this is a new thing or something, because I read another middle grade novel a couple weeks ago with the exact same thing in it. I started out thinking, "Oh, this is new! It's cute, I like it!" but there are so many, and it just ended up distracting me after a bit. Yeah, they were at times funny, but the amount of times they were used really bugged me!

This was a wonderful book, and I am really glad I was able to read it. I liked it a lot, and personally, I think it's perfect for all ages, not just kids.

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Ghost of Spirit Bear by Ben Mikaelsen

Ghost of Spirit Bear

Ben Mikaelsen

Blurb:
Alone in the wilderness, Cole found peace.

But he's not alone anymore.

Cole Matthews used to be a violent kid, but a year in exile on a remote Alaskan island has a way of changing your perspective. After being mauled by a Spirit Bear, Cole started to heal. He even invited his victim, Peter Driscal, to join him on the island and they became friends.

But now their time in exile is over, and Cole and Peter are heading back to the one place they're not sure they can handle: high school. Gangs and violence haunt the hallways, and Peter's limp and speech impediment make him a natural target. In a school where hate and tension are getting close to the boiling point, the monster of rage hibernating inside Cole begins to stir.

Ben Mikaelsen's riveting saga of survival and self-awareness continues in the sequel to his gripping Touching Spirit Bear. This time, he weaves a tale of urban survival where every day is a struggle to stay sane. As the problems in his school grow worse, Cole realizes that it's not enough just to change himself. He has to change his world.

Genres:  Young Adult, Realistic Fiction

Publication Date: June 17, 2006

Pages: 160

Series: Spirit Bear (book 2)

My Rating: 3 stars


There are spoilers for the original book in this review.

I gave this book three stars because it was a nice little book in its own right, but compared to Touching Spirit Bear, I thought this one really missed the mark. So this review may make me seem like I hated Ghost of Spirit Bear, but that really isn't true. I just hated it in comparison to Touching Spirit Bear.

In my opinion, there were two major things that made Touching Spirit Bear so good; watching Cole slowly change from an angry delinquent to an actually likeable person, and the survivalist aspect.

This book has neither of those aspects. Unless, of course, one considers navigating a rough high school 'survivalist.' I suppose they could be compared (high school bullies vs. surviving the wilderness after a bear mauls you; they both kinda suck) , but there is still no way it could be classified in the genre.

No, instead of trying to survive alone with civilization nowhere in sight, instead of seeing the Spirit bear, Cole (and his new best friend Peter) are trying to stop bullies and gangs at their school and also campaign for a new school mascot. Okay, as a standalone I wouldn't mind that plot. In fact, I thought this book's storyline had a really good theme and it managed to keep my interest. But this is a sequel. A sequel to a really great book. And this plot really had nothing on the first.

Also, yes, the plot for Touching Spirit Bear got a bit unbelievable at the end. Even Ben Mikaelsen basically admitted that in his author's note, if I remember correctly. The unbelievable aspect of the plot that I am talking about? Peter coming to the wilderness with Cole. Later, them becoming friends. That just doesn't happen in real life; you don't beat someone up so much that they have brain damage and then become buddies with them. But I didn't care very much because it was at the end. I didn't have to suspend disbelief for very long. In this book, I had to suspend my disbelief for the whole story, and I just became really skeptical of the whole thing.

Maybe the root problem for this book is that Touching Spirit Bear was one of those books that didn't need a sequel. It was stunning as a standalone.

This one, in the end, didn't stand up to the original. I am probably going to donate my copy to Goodwill, because I don't feel like I'm going to be reading this again.


Follow on Bloglovin

Monday, April 21, 2014

The Choice of Twilight by Tyler Wise

The Choice of Twilight

By Tyler Wise

Blurb: At the ripe old age of twelve, Ty's life is falling apart. The day he starts middle school, Ty's grandfather dies of unknown causes. Devastated and still in mourning, he is forced to continue his first year in the new school where old and familiar is quickly replaced with new and intimidating.

On the eve of his thirteenth birthday, Ty awakes to find himself in a dreamworld, one—so he is told—that exists to pit him against his greatest fears and insecurities. And to ready him for a final choice. Luckily, Ty is not without friends. He soon finds Genno, a wooden puppet his grandfather made for him years ago, walking and talking, ready to help Ty learn what he needs to return home in one piece. He must rise to the challenge and face the alluring wonders of a deceptively perfect toy factory, an army of living stuffed animals (that are far more threatening than they sound), and a cruel captor who wants nothing more than to keep him trapped forever.


Genres: Juvenile, Adventure

Publication Date: March 17, 2014

Pages: 288

Series: N/A

My Rating: 3 stars

A free copy of this book was received from the author in exchange for an honest review.

If there was one word I could use to describe Choice of Twilight, I would definitely choose 'creepy.' This was the creepiest book I have read in a long time, possibly ever. I haven't read a lot of books like that, so I thought that was really great.

This is a really imaginative story. The things Ty faces, the dreamworld...I was really impressed with how new and unique it all was for me. And the fact that it was so new really added to the creepy part. That's really the strong point of this book.

I liked Ty, but the character I liked the most, suprisingly, was the wizard. Yep, the wizard. I know he doesn't show up a lot, but when he did he was wise, a bit funny, and maybe it's just because I read Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire right before this book, but I thought his personality was a bit like Dumbledore's. Maybe that is just me though.

However, there were a couple things that took away from my overall enjoyment of the story. First, there were some editing errors. At times the story would jump from third person past tense to third person present tense and then go back again. I wasn't a fan of that. It also had a few run-ons, but that didn't happen a ton. My main problem was what I mentioned before; the third person past to the third person present.

Also, a lot would happen in a very short amount of time. It would jump from one thing to another, and I wish that this had been spaced out more. This became noticeable for me nearer to the end, so I won't share the example I had written down due to spoilers.

Despite some of my reservations, I still think this book would be great for kids who like books such as Coraline.



Follow on Bloglovin

Release Day Book Blitz+GIVEAWAY: My Not So Super Sweet Life by Rachel Harris



HAPPY RELEASE DAY!


Cat Crawford just wants to be normal—or at least as normal as a daughter of Hollywood royalty can be. And it looks like fate is granting her wish: she’s got an amazing boyfriend, Lucas; her fabulous cousin, Alessandra, living with her; and her dad planning his second marriage to a great future stepmom. That is, until her prodigal mother reveals on national television that she has something important to tell her daughter…causing a media frenzy.

Lucas Capelli knows his fate is to be with Cat, and he’s worked hard to win her over once and for all. Unfortunately, Lucas has his own issues to deal with, including a scandal that could take him away from the first place he’s truly belonged.

As secrets are revealed, rumors explode, and the world watches, Cat and Lucas discover it’s not fate they have to fight if they want to stay together…this time, it’s their own insecurities.

Well, and the stalkerazzi.


MY NOT SO SUPER SWEET LIFE is a special digital only, fan requested addition to the series!

It's also told in DUAL POV.


TEASER





Read the first chapter...






GET YOUR COPY TODAY

 Amazon † B&N † iTunes 





To celebrate the release author Rachel Harris is hosting a giveaway!


US - A Signed RARE paperback copy of MY NOT SO SUPER SWEET LIFE & SWAG PACK
INT - An eBook copy of MY NOT SO SUPER SWEET LIFE


a Rafflecopter giveaway




ABOUT RACHEL HARRIS


Rachel Harris writes humorous love stories about sassy girls-next-door and the hot guys that make them swoon. Emotion, vibrant settings, and strong families are a staple in each of her Rachel Harrisbooks…and kissing. Lots of kissing.

A Cajun cowgirl now living in Houston, she firmly believes life’s problems can be solved with a hot, sugar-coated beignet or a thick slice of king cake, and that screaming at strangers for cheap, plastic beads is acceptable behavior in certain situations. She homeschools her two beautiful girls and watches way too much Food Network with her amazing husband.

An admitted Diet Mountain Dew addict, she gets through each day by laughing at herself, hugging her kids, and losing herself in story. She writes young adult, new adult, and adult romances, and LOVES talking with readers!






Friday, April 18, 2014

The Lotus Effect by Bridget Ladd

The Lotus Effect

By Bridget Ladd

Blurb: An improbable partnership. An unforgettable love.

Lily Emerson, daughter of the Head of Council and Mistress of Science, has lived a privileged life. It’s Lily’s 18th nameday, the day she is to follow in her mother’s footsteps, becoming the next Mistress of Science—the most powerful woman in all of City Prosper. The Architect and designer of Prosper’s future.

During the night of her Coronation, the corruption of the Council spreads before her . . . opening her eyes to the cruelty that resides in the Council, even within her own parents. Lily realizes now the title of Mistress only comes with superficial power, that to truly save the citizens—she has to fight.

Fight in the Barrage—the mechanical gladiatorial tournament in which one chosen pair of volunteers from each Sector fights, armor-clad and as a team, utilizing unique weapon specialties: the Gatling gun, the Cestus, Klaives, Crescent Knives, mechanically engineered beasts—in the hope to win the right to change the Law. A law that has remained unchanged since its creation almost eighty years ago.

The tournament that Xander, Engineering Blacksmith and Lily’s partner, believes she has no business being in.

But Lily’s different. And she sets out to prove just that.

If you’re a fan of adventure, fighting for survival, unlikely female heroines, and romance—then grab your copy today!


Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Dystopian

Publication Date: July 19, 2013

Pages: 538

Series: Rise of the Ardent (book 1)

My Rating: 2 stars

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

There is no doubt in my mind that The Lotus Effect has a lot of potential. However, I never got into this one, no matter how hard I tried.

This book is a little bit similar to Hunger Games, not going to lie. However, it never once crossed over the rip-off line. (Cough cough like Arena One cough cough) The author added dozens of unique aspects to the book so that it never seemed very similar. The majority of any similarities were at the beginning, and as soon as it neared the middle there were basically none to be found, so it ended up not being a huge problem at all.

One thing I didn't like, however, was the romance. Okay, let me revise that; the romance itself didn't truly bother me, but there were times where I felt that Lily should have had more important things to focus on than wondering if Xander liked her. I don't think that if I was entering a competition that could possibly kill you, I would be very focused on crushes and that sort of thing. I'm usually fine with romance; it's not my favorite genre, but I can deal with it, but in this scenario I would expect it to be more subtle.

Also, I didn't think that there was an adequate amount of worldbuilding. I would have liked to more about the background of City Prosper and such. However, maybe it will be more explained in the next book.

As far as characters go, I had mixed feelings. There were times that I did like Lily, but there were times that I did not think she made the wisest of decisions. I feel like she got herself into a lot of trouble that could have been avoided if she hadn't been so compulsive. And I liked Xander, but SPOILER!

the reveal about his powers kind of confused me. They never played a very big role in the book...at least I didn't think they did. I have a feeling that, like the worldbuilding, there will be more of his powers in the next book. END OF SPOILER
 
All in all, I didn't love this one. It will be a good read for some, but I didn't enjoy it as much as I hoped I would. I don't think I'll be continuing on with the series, sadly.

Monday, April 14, 2014

Heart on a Chain by Cindy C. Bennett

 Heart on a Chain

Cindy C. Bennett

Blurb:  17-year-old Kate has lived her whole life in abject poverty, with an alcoholic father and drug-addicted mother, who severely abuses Kate. At school, her second-hand clothing marks her as a target. Her refusal to stand up for herself makes her the recipient of her classmates taunts and bullying. That is, until Henry returns.

Henry Jamison moved away six years earlier, just as he and Kate had begun to develop feelings for one another. He returns to find the bright, funny, outgoing girl he had known now timidly hiding in corners, barely speaking to anyone around her, suspicious of even him.

Kate can't figure out what game Henry is playing with her - for surely it is a game. What else would the gorgeous, popular boy from her past want with her?

Kate finally decides to trust Henry's intentions, opening her heart to him. Just when it seems he might be genuine in his friendship, tragedy strikes, threatening everything Kate has worked so hard to gain. Can Henry help her to overcome this new devastation, or will it tear them apart forever?


Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Realistic Fiction 

Publication Date: January 15, 2011

Pages: 322

Series: N/A

My Rating: 3 stars

 
Heart on A Chain started well. Really. It was a 'completely sucked in' kind of book. And then...the book went from being good to being a dramatic soap opera of sorts. I don't mean to be disrespectful, but it no longer felt as 'real' to me.

I really did start out loving it. I felt so badly for Kate; her life was terrible. I flipped pages as fast as I could, because I needed to know how her life had went from a normal happy childhood to this.

This book really made me see bullying in a different light. I always knew it was bad, of course, but this shed a light on it in a way that I hadn't seen before. I thought that part was well done.

Kate herself...I started out really liking her as a character. You can't help but feel sorry for her; she has an absolutely terrible life. After a while, though, her personality was reminding me of Cinderella. (Actually, even Kate referred to herself as Cinderella in the book, though it was more in the cleaning sense.) A lot of parallels can be made between the Cinderella story and Heart on a Chain, Henry in particular.

Henry really was the "Prince Charming" of this book. He's the flawless guy, the guy that everyone wants for their daughter. Everything about him, including his family, is simply perfect. The major problem I had with this is Henry is more of an ideal than an actual person. I liked him and all, but when it comes down to it, I don't think I have or ever will meet someone as wonderful as Henry was made out to be. This is a real pet peeve of mine, so it bothered me more than other people may be bothered by it.

The ending is where things started to become very jumbled. Things kept happening, left and right, and certain things I didn't even find plausible. That whole part with Jessica...I won't say anything except that I highly doubt that would happen in real life. Regardless if things were realistic or not, I wanted it to slow down! I can't take this whirlwind of huge reveals! I normally am a person who loves when stories have a lot of twists and turns, but even I thought this was a tad excessive.

One thing I will say about the ending, though, is that it was the kind of happy ending that made me want to sigh in contentment, knowing that finally something was going right in Kate's life. I suppose the fact that I was pleased with this shows that I did like the book, even if there were a couple kinks. I have read a lot of books by Cindy Bennett, and she always does manage to leave me satisfied. So, this, in the end, is a book I don't regret reading.


Sunday, April 13, 2014

Upside Down in the Middle of Nowhere by Julie T. Lamana

Upside Down in the Middle of Nowhere

Julie T. Lamana

Blurb: Armani Curtis can think about only one thing: her tenth birthday. All her friends are coming to her party, her mama is making a big cake, and she has a good feeling about a certain wrapped box. Turning ten is a big deal to Armani. It means she's older, wiser, more responsible. But when Hurricane Katrina hits the Lower Nines of New Orleans, Armani realizes that being ten means being brave, watching loved ones die, and mustering all her strength to help her family weather the storm. A powerful story of courage and survival, Upside Down in the Middle of Nowhere celebrates the miraculous power of hope and love in the face of the unthinkable.

Genres: Juvenile, Historical Fiction, Realistic Fiction 

Publication Date: April 8. 2014

Pages: 320

Series: N/A

My Rating: 3.5 stars
  
A free copy of this book was received from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

When I saw this book, I was intrigued. I had never read, much less seen, a fiction book that dealt with Hurricane Katrina. So I was really excited to read this one. 

The fact that it was about a girl's experience during Hurricane Katrina is one of the things I did like about this book.  I knew a bit about Hurricane Katrina, but this book really showed how people would have reacted in this tragedy. I couldn't imagine going through what Armani did, especially at such a young age.

I also thought Armani was a good protagonist. She was relatable, and I liked her a lot. She also acted in what I thought was a very realistic manner, so I found her to be a very believable character as well. All the characters in this book were well thought out, but I liked Armani the best!

The reason I didn't like this as much as I wanted to is more personal and maybe others will disagree with me on it. I knew going into Upside Down in the Middle of Nowhere that it would be a middle grade book. For me, there are two types of middle grade; ones that all people can enjoy even if they are older than the intended age, and ones that are definitely more geared to younger kids. I felt this book was the latter. I am sure that there are others who would say that both teens and adults could enjoy this one as well as younger children; this is simply my opinion and it may not be held by others.

I would recommend this to kids ages 8-12 who are into historical fiction.

Saturday, April 12, 2014

Stacking The Shelves 4/12/14

Stacking The Shelves is hosted by Tynga's Reviews and is about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves. You can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow, review books, gifts and ebooks!
I liked this week as far as new books go. I found a few new treasures, and I actually got one book that I'd been waiting to read forever, so I was satisfied!

Amazon Freebies:


None of these freebies would have been found without looking at your awesome Stacking The Shelves last week, so a huge thank you! I read all three of these already, and You Are Here and Red at Night were both really good. I have actually reviewed one of these (Red at Night by Katie McGarry) and you can find it here. It was my first Katie McGarry book, so thanks again. :D


pic name pic name pic name

 

Received for Review: 

I am currently reading The Choice of Twilight,  and so far I like it. I am on the blog tour for Only With You, and I can't wait to read it!
pic name pic name

 

Won: 

This is the one I have been wanting to to read for the longest time. I ended up winning it, and I am so excited to get to it! 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What do you guys think? Comment below!