Saturday, November 29, 2014

100 Followers via GFC!



This is just a short little post, but guys! I finally have gotten 100 followers via GFC! Thanks so much everyone who follows me! I know it's not a lot compared to some blogs, but for me it's a huge milestone. :D

To celebrate, here is a gif of Tom Felton and Rupert Grint doing a little happy dance.  (I am in a really gif-y mood today for some reason.) Enjoy! ;)


Friday, November 28, 2014

Review: The Body Electric by Beth Revis

The Body Electric

By Beth Revis

Blurb: The future world is at peace.

Ella Shepherd has dedicated her life to using her unique gift—the ability to enter people’s dreams and memories using technology developed by her mother—to help others relive their happy memories.

But not all is at it seems.

Ella starts seeing impossible things—images of her dead father, warnings of who she cannot trust. Her government recruits her to spy on a rebel group, using her ability to experience—and influence—the memories of traitors. But the leader of the rebels claims they used to be in love—even though Ella’s never met him before in her life. Which can only mean one thing…

Someone’s altered her memory.

Ella’s gift is enough to overthrow a corrupt government or crush a growing rebel group. She is the key to stopping a war she didn’t even know was happening. But if someone else has been inside Ella’s head, she cannot trust her own memories, thoughts, or feelings.

So who can she trust?


Genres: Young Adult, Dystopian, Science Fiction, Romance

Publication Date: October 6, 2014

Pages: 482

Series: N/A

My Rating: 4 stars


I received a free copy of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

The Body Electric was what I wish every single Young Adult book would be like; entertaining, free of stupid tropes, and original.

*coughs* and it has a really pretty cover *coughs*

This book revolves around Ella Shepherd. She's an awesome main character. Not once did I get annoyed with her. Ella is confused about what is going on with her, but I never thought that this caused her to make annoying/stupid decisions. Her reactions to things always felt realistic to me, as well.

She also has this awesome to read about relationship with Jack. It isn't instalove. It isn't sappy. It feels real and sweet and...ship-worthy. That's something I don't say very often. I. don't. ship. I tolerate, usually. I am a so very non-romantic guys. It is a problem when all you read is Young Adult, but I manage. But Jack and Ella were good together, even I'll admit that.

The plot...this is where I get conflicted, because on one hand, I guessed a lot of the plot twists. It was kind of like Cinder, where I could see something coming, but not in an annoying way where I was mad that it was easy to spot? (Spoiler, highlight to see)
kind of a coincidence, considering both of these stories deal with cyborgs, hmm. I suppose that doesn't make much sense. They were good turns to the storyline, they just were guess-worthy good turns to the storyline. I still thought the overall story was well crafted and different than anything I've read before.

The writing is something I usually don't talk about in reviews, but I think it really deserves to be mentioned here, because it was soooo great! It definitely made the story for me. I felt that it captured Ella's voice really well, which is possibly also why I liked her so much. It was great.

Plus, it's a standalone. There wasn't any cliffhanger at the end. I like a book that actually ends with a concrete resolution. I mean, cliffhangers are fine too, but they make me AGONIZE for months until the next book in the series comes out, which is not fun.

This book was my first Beth Revis book, and I have to say, there's a chance that she could become one of my favorite authors after reading this. I'd check this one out if I were you.


Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Review: Mac on the Road to Marseille

Mac on the Road to Marseille

By Christopher Ward

Blurb: Fifteen-year-old Mackenzie returns to Paris to attend the Christmas Eve wedding of her Dad's old friend, Rudee Daroo, and the love of his life, dancer Sashay D'or. Mac is told about the annual New Year's taxi road rally, this year hosted by the Marseille Marauders, the nastiest lot of drivers you've ever seen.

Partnered with hulking cabbie Blag Lebouef, Mac manages to convince her parents that the road rally is more like a carefree drive in the French countryside than the death-defying cutthroat rivalry it's always been. Negotiating brutal weather, cryptic signage, outright sabotage, random flocks of sheep, and zigzagging back roads, Mac and Blag might be the perfect combination of cunning and brute strength, though they are both extremely strong-willed and rarely agree.

On the road, she makes the startling discovery that the clues the drivers have been given during the rally could lead to the discovery of some valuable missing artwork. Is that worth losing the rally over?


Genres: Juvenile/YA, Realistic Fiction, Adventure 

Publication Date: June 17, 2014

Pages: 164

Series: Sequel to Mac in the City of Light

My Rating: 4 stars


I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Well, I should probably start off by saying that this book is actually a sequel to a book I've never read. (Oops, didn't realize before I started reading, but whatcha gonna do?) Yet I still really enjoyed Mac on the Road to Marseille. It was fun and nothing really heavy. Perfect for getting out of a small little reading slump I've found myself in.

The mystery of this book really isn't that much of a mystery to the reader; we are introduced right from the start to the person who is stealing famous artworks and replacing them with well done frauds. However, we don't know a lot about him at first, and that means there still were some reveals at the end of the book. It's cool to see from his POV how he pulled off the heists, and doesn't sound too far fetched, though I doubt that someone could pull of stealing the Mona Lisa from the Louvre in real life, no matter how good their plan is. *Knocks on wood*

It's pure entertainment to read about Mac as she discovers fake paintings, participates in a huge race, and much more. The story always seems a bit humorous; even its more serious moments are never truly serious, because it's plain to see that Mac will be able to get out of those situations.

The characters are all really fun to read about too. Like the plot, none of them ever get too 'serious', except for maybe the thief. Mac is a brave girl, who has really interesting friends and has a habit of getting into exciting adventures. She's not afraid to stand up to the art thief on television; this causes some problems for her later. I liked her a lot. Mac's friends Blag and Rudee could best be described as 'quirky' but they never seemed to get too silly for me to like them, and I liked that.

Definitely a recommended read for younger readers, but if you're older don't feel ashamed to pick it up as well.


 

Sunday, November 23, 2014

Review: One Wish Away by Kelley Lyn

One Wish Away

By Kelley Lynn

Blurb: Be careful what you wish for…

Lyra has always been ahead of the curve. Top of her class in school, a budding astronomer, and with a best friend like Darren she barely has time to miss the mother who abandoned her family years ago. She's too busy planning to follow in her father's footsteps, and to become the youngest astronomer at Space Exploration and Discovery.

When a star goes missing Lyra is determined to get to the bottom of it only to discover her braniac dad is the mastermind of a top-secret government experiment. They promise to build a perfect world, one galaxy at a time, but with every tweak of the present, a bit more of the future starts to crumble.

Lyra has to go undercover to reveal the truth and let humanity decide if the consequences are worth more than wishing on a star.


Genres: Young Adult, Romance, Science Fiction

Publication Date: November 24, 2014  

Pages: 213

Series: N/A

My Rating: 2 stars


I received a free copy of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

As I started to read One Wish Away, I was quite sure that I would love it. And then...I read some more. And slowly, I realized that it would not be a lovefest like I had assumed. The characters turned from awesome to frustrating, and the author didn't manage to make the plot seem believable.

At first I was quite sure I would be able to relate to the protagonist, Lyra. She seemed a little awkward, but super smart,and I was like, hey! the bookish world needs more characters like this! But then she kept making stupid, stupid, stupid decisions. She sneaks in to her dad's workplace, then gets caught. (Shocker.) Then, her dad saves her from getting sent to jail or worse, but she is warned that she can't reveal any of the secrets she learns while there. Well, guess what she does. Tells all the secrets to the boy that she has a slight crush on. And then, to add a bit of hypocritical-ness to the poor decision making, she judges someone else when they get caught for telling someone about the super-secret machine that grants wishes from stars. Like she hadn't done the EXACT same thing.

My reaction:
description

Bennett's character was the second-most disappointing character. His character development near the end was just unbelievable; and I do not mean that in a positive way. It was just a little unbelievable; kind of like the rest of the storyline.

Second, I couldn't help wondering, as they were again and again pondering making wishes happen because the "White House wanted it done"...why don'tcha just wish the White House didn't know about the project? Then we wouldn't need to sit through these conversations about if the scientists should make the wish or not. This bugged me throughout the story, and is really what made me not be able to fully buy the storyline.

This book, while promising--I mean, it is super different then most books out there--didn't properly deliver. I never really was able to suspend my disbelief or connect with any of the characters, and the rating suffered due mostly to this. It was a disappointing read.


Saturday, November 22, 2014

Discussion: Goodreads, AKA, The Precious

Sorry I haven't done a discussion post in such a long time! I am still getting used to doing them. It is still hard for me to come up with ones that I can be satisfied with putting on my blog. But I'm working on it!

I decided to go with talking about Goodreads for this discussion post, because...I really. love. Goodreads It is the most beautiful website in the entire world.  Goodreads is what influenced me to start blogging, and how I have found a plethora of the most wonderful books known to man. (And also a lot of super crappy ones, but let's not talk about those, hmm?) But I also hate Goodreads. Because it is the most epic time-waster I have ever encountered in my entire life.


It's not Goodreads' fault, of course. It's mine. I tell myself, "let's just update my progress with Gone with the Wind!" and before I know it it's an hour later and I've joined two new groups, commented on statuses, and written another review. Definitely NOT just updating my page number on Gone With the Wind. Meanwhile, a pile of homework sits on my bed, waiting to be done.Oops.

Shame on me.

But can anyone blame me? Goodreads is like an oasis of booklovers in a desert of people who literally have never read a book in their life besides ones for school. I had a conversation yesterday about Mockingjay with a group of people, NONE OF WHOM HAD ACTUALLY READ THE BOOK. They just saw the movie!
But it's The Hunger Games! How???
 
So, when I get on Goodreads, where practically EVERYONE has not only read the Hunger Games, they can also quote directly from the books, I am one happy little bookworm. 
Plus...the recommendations guys. How do they know me so well? Are they spying on me? (Probably not, but you never know.) I have found so many good books using that recommendation system. So really, who can blame me if I take thirty minutes sorting through the new books that Goodreads think I would like? No one, that's who. '

And the groups, especially the ones with Read and Reviews and fun little challenges. So addicting! I have joined so many. I mean, they're just motivating me to read, riiiiiight? Even though at this point I spend almost as much time looking for new groups and challenges as I do reading, if not more?

So, you see my problem. 

Lately, I've been trying to make sure that I don't waste time on Goodreads. I have made a rule that I am only allowed to go on after I've finished a book/while writing a review for already finished books. It's been working out pretty well for me. Sometimes I am weak and break that rule-- *blushes*--but most of the time it's kept me from going on.

I can always use your guys' tips. So how do you deal with Goodreads addictions? Or are you an incredibly self-controlled person (in which case PLEASE TEACH ME YOUR WAYS) who never has had this problem? Or do you hate Goodreads and have no idea what I am talking about? Let me know below!

Friday, November 21, 2014

Review: Darkness by Elizabeth Arroyo

Darkness

by Elizabeth Arroyo

Blurb: Seventeen-year-old Carly Lopez suffers from post-traumatic stress, though the “post” part technically doesn't apply…not when the killer is still out there. As the only survivor of the killing spree that left four dead girls in its wake, Carly fails to unearth her buried memories of that day and is consumed with guilt. After a year of silence, the killer is back, and Carly will stop at nothing to catch him. With each new death, Carly’s reality shatters, propelling her deeper into the darkness where the dead haunt her—but where the truth lies. Her only firm grasp of reality is Hunter Jackson, whose mysterious overprotectiveness of Carly forces her to doubt the reason behind her guilt. But Hunter has a secret. And when Carly discovers a horrible truth, she questions her involvement in the murders. Was she directly responsible? Did she help the killer? Carly soon learns that finding answers may mean risking more than just her sanity.
  
Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Romance, Thriller 

Publication Date: August 19, 2014

Pages: 272

Series: N/A

My Rating: 2.5 stars


I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Darkness just slightly missed the mark for me. My main problem with this book was the supernatural aspect of it. Done right, it would have been awesome. But it seemed to be just tacked on at the end, which is decidedly NOT awesome. Darkness was an okay book, don't get me wrong, but I really think that it had the potential to be great.

Main problem: Hunter. First off, the way that plotline ended up going with him, I think it's actually kind of weird that he's still a love interest for Carly. It doesn't feel right. Secondly, LOVE INTEREST. It is rare that love interests in YA are anything but Gary Stus. And, sadly, Hunter really is just the basic YA love interest. Aside from the plot twist that I found a bit creepy, he didn't pique my interest one bit.

Secondly; it took a long time for this book to get supernatural, to the point where I actually had kind of forgot that that was an element of the book. Yes, Carly is having weird "memories", but that could be chalked up to having mental issues due to what happened to her. I think the first time that it was confirmed that something paranormal was going on was around the 80% mark.

Also, due to the romance with Hunter, scenes like Carly going to a party with Hunter, and kissing Hunter, etc., etc., are sometimes in the book, and I just...didn't really care about those scenes, I guess. I mean, there's a murderer on the loose; the romance didn't seem like a pressing issue in comparison to that.

I did like the mysterious tone of the book. It motivated me to read the story, no matter if there were scenes with Hunter I didn't care for. I really wanted to find out how the book ended.

And the end...I definitely did NOT see it coming. HOLY PLOT TWIST! I had figured some of it out, but not the whole thing. That was definitely a bonus for me. I love when books surprise me.

Not exactly my favorite book, (but admittedly better than a lot of paranormal I've read recently) Darkness is a book that I'm rather lukewarm about. If you don't mind some stereotypical teenage romance, you may like this a lot more than me.

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Review: Fae by C.J. Abedi

Fae

By C. J. Abedi

Blurb: The battle between Dark and Light is about to begin.

Caroline Ellis' sixteenth birthday sets into motion a series of events that have been fated for centuries. A descendant of Virginia Dare, the first child born in the lost colony of Roanoke, and unaware of her birthright as the heir to the throne of the Light Fae, it isn't until Caroline begins a tumultuous relationship with Devilyn Reilly that the truth of her heritage is revealed.

Devilyn is the only Fae who is both of the Light and of the Dark, and struggles to maintain that precarious balance to avoid succumbing to the power of the Dark within him. He is the only one who can save Caroline from those who would destroy her and destroy all hope for unity among the Fae. He promises Caroline that he will protect her at all costs, even when it means protecting her from himself.

Told from the alternating perspectives of Caroline and Devilyn, FAE draws on mysteries, myths and legends to create a world, and a romance, dangerously poised between Light and Dark.


Genres: Young Adult, Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance 

Publication Date: July 30, 2013

Series: Fae trilogy (book 1)

Pages: 344

My Rating: 2 stars


I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I have a theory that out there, somewhere, there is a rubric for all YA Paranormal romances. Perhaps some of its requirements are this:

-Story must have super hot hero
-Story must revolve around girl who is special but does not know it
-Story must have some 'friend' characters...but they must be pointless in regards to overall plot
-Story must have insta-love between girl and hot hero.

Just joking, of course. There obviously isn't a rubric. (But seriously, if there was, that would explain sooooo much.) Still, despite there not being a rubric, Fae, along with countless other paranormal romances I have read, fulfilled all of requirements on this list. And that, as you can see by my rating, annoyed me a lot.

Super hot hero
That is fulfilled in Devilyn, who is not only extremely hot, but extremely possessive. Now, he was trying to protect her from the forces of evil fairies, so I'm willing to let it slide this once, but still. It was quite annoying, and it made him seem like a borderline jerk at times.

Girl is special, but she doesn't know it
Caroline. Who is a blatant Mary Sue, there's no denying it. I mean, look how Devilyn describes her when they first meet:
So fragile. So delicate. So...innocent.
I will admit that elicited an eyeroll from me while reading this.

I didn't feel that Caroline had a very original personality. It was bland, and she did not stand out in the crowd of YA heroines. I've read about a lot of girls who were exactly like her; plain, smart, not extremely popular, and who don't show a lot of signs of emotional growth throughout the book. She was a bit of a 'meh' character.

Pointless Friends
One of my hugest pet peeves in YA literature is sadly present in Fae. That one character who does absolutely nothing other than show that the MC is not completely friendless. Teddy. Poor Teddy really could have been substituted out of the book and it would have made little difference.

Insta-love
Yes, this book had insta-love. From the moment they meet, Devilyn and Caroline cannot resist each other, no matter how much they try. (At least they tried to resist at first. That is more than I can say for countless other stories.) Honestly, I would have thought that with all the complaints this aspect of books always gets, it would start to get moved off the imaginary rubric, but I guess not.

Another, non-rubric related complaint is that not a lot actually happens in the book. It is mostly Devilyn protecting Caroline and Caroline wondering what the heck is wrong with Devilyn. And romance. This book is really romance heavy, which is great if you love that sort of thing, but I was getting quite bored with it. I wanted desperately for something to occur, but nothing really did until the end.

However...towards the end when something did occur? It was quite interesting. The plot became quite different than other fae books that I have previously read. A lot of that was due to Tatiana, who was probably my favorite character in this book due to her interesting backstory and her choices during the course of the book. However, the book ended soon after things started to pick up.

Conclusion? I am pondering reading the sequel. While not a lot happened in Fae, by the end it had become its own unique story, and I actually do think this series has promise if it doesn't remain more focused on the romance then other aspects of the plot. Plus, the title to the sequel intrigues me. So, if you are into paranormal, I actually would possibly recommend this despite not loving the majority of it, because the ending makes me think that this could become a really great series.


Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Blog Tour Promo Post + GIVEAWAY: One Wish Away



One Wish Away

by Kelley Lynn

Release Date: 11/24/14
Bloomsbury Spark

Book Summary:
Be careful what you wish for…

Lyra has always been ahead of the curve. Top of her class in school, a budding astronomer, and with a best friend like Darren she barely has time to miss the mother who abandoned her family years ago. She's too busy planning to follow in her father's footsteps, and to become the youngest astronomer at Space Exploration and Discovery.

When a star goes missing Lyra is determined to get to the bottom of it only to discover her braniac dad is the mastermind of a top-secret government experiment. They promise to build a perfect world, one galaxy at a time, but with every tweak of the present, a bit more of the future starts to crumble.

Lyra has to go undercover to reveal the truth and let humanity decide if the consequences are worth more than wishing on a star.




Pre-Order Links:

About the Author
Eventually the day came when the voices in Kelley Lynn’s head were more insistent then her engineering professor’s. So instead of turning to her Thermodynamics book, Kelley brought up a blank page on her computer screen and wrote. Somewhere along the way she became a Young Adult author.

Kelley was born and raised a Midwestern girl. She’s not afraid to sweat and fills her free time with softball, soccer and volleyball. (Though you probably don’t want her on your volleyball team.) She occasionally makes guest appearances as a female vocalist for area bands. Music plays a large role in her writing process as well as the characters and plot lines within her stories.

You can find Kelley hanging out at her blog, titled in her name, as well as the group blog she shares with her fellow critique partners, Falling for Fiction. Kelley is a member of the Society of Children’s Books Writers and Illustrators.


Author Links:



Blog Tour Organized by:


GIVEAWAY: a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Blog Tour Review + GIVEAWAY: Fissure by Marilyn Almodóvar

View the tour schedule!

Fissure

By Marilyn Almodóvar 

Summary: Baxter Jacobs just survived the worst Sweet Sixteen in history: buried in a coffin, hunted down by assassins, and losing almost everything that mattered to her. She’s ready for some normalcy, but “normal” won’t play any part of this Time Bender’s future.
Now that the immediate threat is over, Baxter learns just how much the English Council expects of the newest Interred. The pressure has her seriously considering her uncle’s offer to take her to New York, especially since she thinks it will keep her Healer, Jack, from overusing his abilities. Knowing the New York Council’s ranks are filled with beings using dark powers, however, makes her hesitate.
Before she can choose, the decision is wrenched from her. Fissures in Time result in a new battle with an old enemy. Someone she thought she’d lost reenters her life, and she’ll discover a web of lies woven into the fabric of Time…lies only she can unravel. Baxter will have to use her growing abilities to try and reveal the truth, even if it forever changes the reality she knows.
There are lies in the fabric of Time only she can unravel.


Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20705918-fissure

Purchase:


B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/fissure-marilyn-almodovar/1119565642?ean=2940149613618

Genres: YA, Paranormal, Romance

Publication Date: May 20, 2014

Series: Chronicles of  the Interred (book 2)

My Rating: 3.5 stars

Fissure was one of those few sequels that I liked even more than the first book. That doesn't happen often, especially with me; usually I am a bit disappointed with the sequel because it didn't live up to the first book. 

First off, the plot is more engaging than the first story. Interred seemed like more of an introduction to the world of this series, and in Fissure we've learned enough that the plot has more of a chance to move. And move it does! 

There is a lot of stuff that I liked about this plot, but the main thing is Declan. Gosh, I love what happened with Declan. Interred tricked us into thinking he was simply a jaded and misunderstood kid whose bitterness was being cracked by Baxter. Well, after the plot twist of the century in the first book, it is apparent that was not true, and the author does not slide back from that once.There are no, "It was a trick all for love" plot in here. Declan becomes a truly great villain. It's a nice change from the trail that most YA takes, and I ate it up.

I was a bit on the fence over whether I liked Baxter and Jack together or not in the first book, but after this book I have to say I do. They are great characters separately; Baxter is funny and strong, and Jack is quite charming, and they are no less great together. 

The story becomes a LOT more complex in Fissure, and I'll admit that it could be tough for me to keep up with some of the elements in it. For example, (Spoiler, hightlight to see) I am still wrapping my head around the fact that there were six previous Baxters that failed (end of spoiler.) But, surprisingly, in this book, having a bit of a more confusing plot works. I like that I have to think about some stuff in this series. It actually adds to the fun, in this case.

What I didn't like? First, all the Supernatural and Doctor Who references. I like occasionally watching Doctor Who, but after a while I didn't like all the references to it in this book; it felt distracting. Also, if someone hasn't watched these shows, they'll have no idea what the heck these references are about. 

Also, it could be confusing to keep track of all these characters. There are a LOT mentioned in the story, and while I like that there were more than two characters that were significantly mentioned in the story, it got to the point where I was struggling to remember who was who and how they were related/connected to each other,so I would have to search them on my kindle to jog my memory. It became a bit tedious.

Still, Fissure is a really entertaining and different YA Paranormal. It actually has pretty good development and it doesn't have a Twilight rehash vibe. I would definitely recommend this to people who like the idea of YA Paranormal, but aren't in love with how uniform it has become recently. 


AUTHOR BIO:
Marilyn Almodóvar is the author of a series of YA paranormal novels. Born in Ft. Huachuca, Arizona, Lyn is a lover of words whose reading tastes range from Victorian novels to the books of Stephen King. Her favorite past-times have always been reading and writing, two activities that let her escape to other worlds.
It was this love that propelled her to choose Theater and French as majors in University, with a minor in English Victorian Literature. Lyn lived for almost a decade in England followed by three years in France before returning home to the States. A self-confessed citizen of the world, she is fluent in English, French and Spanish, with basic knowledge of the Italian language.
Lyn could happily exist breathing the clean air of Narnia, trapped in a cupboard under the stairs with Harry, fighting alongside Captain Jack Sparrow, doing an internship in Torchwood, or traveling around time and space with the Doctor…as long as she can have Mr. Spock, Captain Kirk and Captain Mal as companions.
Lyn currently lives in Central Florida with her French husband, English-born eldest son, and French-born youngest son. Her debut YA Novel, Interred, was be published by Iambe books on 01/22/2013.

Author links:
http://www.marilynalmodovar.com/
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5622715.Marilyn_Almod_var
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Marilyn-Almod%C3%B3var/142589622496531?ref=hl
https://twitter.com/LynAlmodovar                       
GIVEAWAY:     
  
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, November 9, 2014

Review: Resisting Ruby Rose by Jessie Humphries

                                                  

Resisting Ruby Rose

By Jessie Humphries


Summary: Still reeling from the heartbreaking events that unfolded on Grissom Island, Ruby Rose is trying to come to terms with the fact that she’s gone from a vigilante in killer shoes to a stone-cold killer. Everyone from her therapist to her smoking-hot boyfriend keeps trying to convince her that she hasn’t crossed over to the dark side, but Ruby isn’t so sure. It doesn’t help that her nemesis, Detective “Mastermind” Martinez, is still out there, waiting for another chance to take her down.

When an alleged CIA agent named Skryker shows up and asks for a meeting, Ruby figures it just means more questions about her case. But he has information of an entirely different nature and a job offer: join an elite force of young assassins, including Skryker’s right-hand guy, Quinn Donovan. Quinn is distractingly charming, handsome—and deadly. Ruby resists becoming a killer again, but as she becomes more ensnared in a web of deceit, no one around her is safe.
 


Genres: YA, Romance, Thriller, Realistic Fiction, Romance

Publication Date: October 28, 2014

Pages: 284

Series: Ruby Rose (book 1)

My Rating: 1 star

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I read Killing Ruby Rose and I enjoyed it. It wasn't perfect, but it was a fun and thrilling mystery. Resisting Ruby Rose was NOT a fun and thrilling mystery. It was what one would get if they mashed together YA Romance and the movie series Spy Kids. (I hated those movies, so that didn't help my love for this book any more.)

The first book in this series was by no means extremely realistic, but it was realistic enough that I could see the plot being on a show like Law and Order or something like that. This book did not even meet that standard, and that was one of my major issues with it. It introduces a secret agency that hires teens as agents. Perhaps that would not have annoyed me if it was not so different than what the first book was; a nice little crime thriller. It came off as cheesy and unbelievable.

Secondly, I hated what this book did to the character of Liam, especially because I liked him in the first book a lot. In this book, he was completely reinvented to be a power hungry jerk who is quite awful to Ruby and prety much the polar opposite of the charming and misunderstood guy that I came to appreciate in Killing Ruby Rose. While I liked that the author made the decision to show that not all relationships last (In YA, the myth that almost everyone finds their true wuv on the first try seems to be perpetuated a lot and that bugs me) I didn't like that in order to show that they gave Liam such an awful personality. (And if I remember correctly, an awful haircut as well. Blegh)

Remember Ruby's shoe fetish from the first book? Well it's back. And mentioned at inappropriate times once again. Like, she'll see a villain in the book and then admire his expensive shoes. This angered me in the first book, and it angered me in the second book too. Ruby makes a lot of weird comments that just should not fly in the real world, in fact. She judges one character for having kiled eleven people, and yet she is nearing that number of people killed herself. Yeah, I didn't like Ruby all that much in this book.

Laslty, the romance with her and Quinn happened so fast. He's holding a GUN to her boyrfriend, and she is thinking about how he looks kind of "sexy" while doing it. Who. Does. That. Honestly, I kind of gave up on this book after reading that line. There is so much wrong with that line of thought. Any chance of me liking Quby or whatever their ship name would be went out the window with that scene.

This was a disappointing sequel to say the least. I will not be continuing with the series, no matter how much I liked the first one, because I have a feeling that after this book, the series will have gone down hill. 

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Review: The 100 by Kass Morgan

The 100

by Kass Morgan

Blurb: In the future, humans live in city-like spaceships orbiting far above Earth's toxic atmosphere. No one knows when, or even if, the long-abandoned planet will be habitable again. But faced with dwindling resources and a growing populace, government leaders know they must reclaim their homeland... before it's too late.

Now, one hundred juvenile delinquents are being sent on a high-stakes mission to recolonize Earth. After a brutal crash landing, the teens arrive on a savagely beautiful planet they've only seen from space. Confronting the dangers of this rugged new world, they struggle to form a tentative community. But they're haunted by their past and uncertain about the future. To survive, they must learn to trust - and even love - again.


Genres: Young Adult, Dystopian, Science Fiction, Romance 

Publication Date: September 3, 2013

Pages: 323

Series: The Hundred (book 1)

My Rating: 2.5 stars


I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.


Here is the strange thing about The 100: it was not out of sheer dislike that I rated it 2.5 stars. In fact, I kind of liked it; that's why it's 2.5 stars and not lower. That is usually not the case. With this book, my rating was due to the fact that it highly resembles the plot of Lost. Even more strange, this book actually got turned into a TV show. So now I kind of want to see that to see if I'm getting Lost vibes from that as well. Bottom line, whether intentional or not, it resembled Lost, in both characters and plot.

But Gabs, you say, this sounds nothing like Lost! First, it's futuristic. Second, it's dystopian. And, it has like nothing to with an island. Well, that's true. But yet it still resembles the plot of Lost at times.

Resemblance #1: The Rocky Landing
In Lost, the survivors of Oceanic 815 landed on the island after their plane crashed. In The 100, their transport crashed on a mysterious land as well; Earth. They had never been to this strange place before. There is chaos. People are injured. It rather resembles the opening scenes of The Lost Pilot Part 1.

Resemblance #2: The Characters (Wells, Clarke, and Bellamy)
These three characters, first, had a love triangle. In Lost, the three characters they resemble also had a love triangle going on for the first couple seasons. It's a bit mashed up in this book (the characters these people resemble weren't paired together the same way in Lost) but it's still enough of a coincidence for me to raise my eyes.

Clarke is a medic. She has a love triangle with Bellamy and Wells. She's one of the "leaders" of sorts. She's basically the female version of Jack Shephard.

Wells is like the male version of Kate Austen from Lost. I didn't like him, he has a romance with Clarke (who I said before resembles Jack Shephard) and he keeps following Clarke around even though she keeps telling him not to.

Bellamy reminds me a lot of Sawyer. He's a smooth talker, he flirts with Clarke a lot, and he has a tough guy persona that is sometimes transparent.

However, his over-protectiveness of Octavia also reminded me of Walt and Michael's relationship; I was half expecting there to be a line like "Octaaaaaaaaaavia!" somewhere in the book. (Disappointingly, there was not.) Especially because he a) hadn't seen Octavia for a while until he boarded the ship that would take them to Earth and b) Octavia doesn't seem as close to him as he is to her.

Resemblance #3: Flashbacks
In the 100, flashbacks of the character's lives before they came to Earth will suddenly pop up as we are going through the main plot. Let me think of what TV show was well known for doing that, especially in Season 1...hmm, it starts with an 'L'...and ends with an 'ost.'

(Spoiler, highlight to see) Resemblance #4: There's....Others?!The big reveal at the end of the 100 was that they were not alone on Earth. Well, that was kind of a HUGE reveal on Lost as well. And, the end of the book there's also a scene with arrows and fire. There was a scene like that in Lost as well, and it involved the Others too. (End of spoiler)
 
Maybe these are all delusions of a too-passionate Lostie searching for purpose ever since the last season of her favorite show ended. That's possible. But I still think that there are too many coincidences for me to think of this as a wholly original plotline.